Who May Operate a Snowmobile
Operating a snowmobile in Michigan is governed by age, safety education, supervision, and local restrictions.
Operation of a Snowmobile by Children Under Age 12
A parent or legal guardian shall not permit his or her child who is less than 12 years of age to operate a snowmobile without the direct supervision of an adult except on land owned or under the control of the parent or legal guardian.
Operation of a Snowmobile by Operators Ages 12-16
Persons 12 to 16 years old may operate a snowmobile if one of the following conditions exists:
- The person is under the direct supervision of someone 21 or older or ...
- The person has in his or her possession a snowmobile safety certificate or ...
- The person is on land owned or under the control of his or her parent or legal guardian or ...
- The person possesses a snowmobile safety certificate issued under the authority of the laws of another state or Canadian province.
Michigan's Snowmobile Safety Certificate is valid in all 50 states and all Canadian provinces.
An operator 12 to 16 years old must have a valid snowmobile safety certificate in his or her immediate possession to cross a highway or street.
Failure to comply with regulations may result in the suspension of the operator's snowmobile safety certificate.
Who May Not Operate a Snowmobile
You may not operate a snowmobile in Michigan if your operator's or chauffeur's license is suspended or revoked.
Operating a snowmobile while your license is suspended or revoked is a misdemeanor violation, and you may be penalized.