About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Michigan Snowmobile Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Snowmobile Safety Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

A Deadly Mix: Don't Drink and Drive

A person may not operate a snowmobile under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.

A person is considered to be under the influence of alcohol when he or she has an alcohol content of 0.08 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine. A person who is less than 21 years of age, whether licensed or not, may not operate a snowmobile if he or she has consumed any alcohol.

An owner or operator of a snowmobile may not permit the machine to be driven by a person who is under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, or both.

A person who operates a snowmobile under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance and causes serious bodily injury to another person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for up to five years, a fine of up to $5,000, or both.

A person who operates a snowmobile under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance and causes the death of another person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for up to 15 years, a fine of up to $10,000, or both.

Alcohol and excessive speed are major causes of snowmobile accidents in Michigan.