About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Wisconsin Snowmobile Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Snowmobile Safety Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

  • Anyone born after January 1, 1985, who is 12 years of age and older must have a valid Snowmobile Safety Certificate to operate a snowmobile in public areas.
  • You must keep the safety certificate with you while snowmobiling, and you must show it to a law enforcement officer when requested.
  • To receive a safety certificate, you must take and pass a snowmobile safety course that is sponsored by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
    • All riders under 16 years of age must take a classroom course.
    • Riders 16 years of age and older may take a classroom course or an Internet-based course.
  • For information about safety courses, contact the nearest DNR office or visit the website at: dnr.wi.gov/topic/snowmobile/