About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Utah Snowmobile Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Snowmobile Safety Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

A Deadly Mix: Don't Drink and Drive
Stay Safe: Don't Drink and Ride!
Remember: “Zero Tolerance, I say, till I'm done for the day!”

Snowmobiles are motor vehicles. As such, drug and alcohol restrictions apply to snowmobile operation. Driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol in Utah will result in:

  • Fines from $1,300 to $2,000 and …
  • Driver’s license restrictions, suspensions, or penalties and …
  • Impoundment of the snowmobile.

Obeying Law Enforcement Officers

All Utah peace officers enforce the snowmobile laws and regulations.

Responding After an Accident

If you are involved in an accident, you must:

  • Stop and render aid.
  • Give the other party your name, address, and the registration number and owner’s name of the snowmobile you’re riding.
  • Immediately notify a law enforcement officer and file a report within 15 days with the Utah State Parks Department if the injury or damage is significant.