To operate a snowmobile in Minnesota, you must meet these education requirements.
- A person 12 through 15 years old must have a snowmobile safety certificate. To get the certificate, youth must successfully complete both:
- The online Minnesota Snowmobile Ed Course and…
- A Hands-On Snowmobile Safety Training Class.
- A person born after December 31, 1976, and at least 16 years old must successfully complete a snowmobile safety certification course. A Hands-On Snowmobile Safety Training Class is not required. While operating a snowmobile, the person must have:
- A snowmobile safety certificate or…
- A snowmobile safety certificate endorsement on his or her driver’s license or Minnesota ID card.
A person 11 years old may complete the online Minnesota Snowmobile Ed Course and a Hands-On Snowmobile Safety Training Class to get a snowmobile safety certificate, but the certificate will not be valid until the person is at least 12 years old.
Anyone required to have snowmobile safety education must carry proof of certification with them while operating a snowmobile. The snowmobile safety certificate or the snowmobile safety certificate endorsement must be available for inspection by a law enforcement officer if requested.