Michigan Snowmobile Laws and Regulations
Passing this Snowmobile license course will complete your online safety education for Michigan.
pay only when you pass, unlimited exam attempts
Do you need Michigan Snowmobile education?
You need education if you are 12 to 16 years old and will be riding in Michigan.
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of Michigan to take this online course.
Snowmobile education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.
All Michigan law enforcement officers and designated Michigan Department of Natural Resources officers and employees are authorized to enforce the Snowmobile regulations.
An operator who has received a signal from a law enforcement officer must stop his or her Snowmobile.
Is the Snowmobile Card the same as the Snowmobile License?
The Snowmobile Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved Snowmobile safety course and allows you to go snowmobiling. Because the Snowmobile education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Michigan Snowmobile License.
Why Snowmobile Safety Education Is Important
Snowmobiles have increased the popularity of outdoor winter recreation. More than three million people in the United States and Canada snowmobile each winter, enjoying more than 230,000 miles of groomed public trails.
As trails and recreation areas become more crowded, it’s especially important for people to operate these vehicles safely and responsibly.
All states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the Snowmobile Safety Certificate. Likewise, Michigan will accept certifications that are issued by other states and provinces. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Michigan Department of Natural Resources
530 W. Allegan St.
Lansing, MI 48933
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Michigan Snowmobile students most frequently ask.Frequently Asked Questions