Vermont Snowmobile Laws and Regulations
Passing this Snowmobile license course will complete your online safety education for Vermont.
pay only when you pass, unlimited exam attempts
Do you need Vermont Snowmobile education?
You need education if you were born after July 1, 1983, and will be riding in Vermont.
You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of Vermont to take this online course.
Snowmobile education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.
All Vermont law enforcement officers and designated Vermont State Police officers and employees are authorized to enforce the Snowmobile regulations.
An operator who has received a signal from a law enforcement officer must stop his or her Snowmobile.
Is the Snowmobile Card the same as the Snowmobile License?
The Snowmobile Safety Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved Snowmobile safety course and allows you to go snowmobiling. Because the Snowmobile education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Vermont Snowmobile License.
Why Snowmobile Safety Education Is Important
Snowmobiles have increased the popularity of outdoor winter recreation. More than three million people in the United States and Canada snowmobile each winter, enjoying more than 230,000 miles of groomed public trails.
As trails and recreation areas become more crowded, it’s especially important for people to operate these vehicles safely and responsibly.
All states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the Snowmobile Safety Education Certificate. Likewise, Vermont will accept certifications that are issued by other states and provinces. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Vermont State Police
103 S. Main St.
Waterbury, VT 05671
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Vermont Snowmobile students most frequently ask.Vermont Frequently Asked Questions