Pennsylvania Snowmobile Laws and Regulations
Passing this Snowmobile license course will complete your online safety education for Pennsylvania.
unlimited exam attempts
Do you need Pennsylvania Snowmobile education?
You need education if you are under 16 years old.
You must be at least 10 years old to take this online course.
Snowmobile education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.
Is the Snowmobile Card the same as the Snowmobile License?
The Snowmobile Safety Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved Snowmobile safety course and allows you to go snowmobiling. Because the Snowmobile education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Pennsylvania Snowmobile License.
Why Snowmobile Safety Education Is Important
Snowmobiles have increased the popularity of outdoor winter recreation. More than three million people in the United States and Canada snowmobile each winter, enjoying more than 230,000 miles of groomed public trails.
As trails and recreation areas become more crowded, it’s especially important for people to operate these vehicles safely and responsibly.
Most states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the Snowmobile Safety Education Certificate. (This is known as “reciprocity.”) If you plan to operate in another state or province, make sure you check their reciprocity laws before doing so.
Department of Conservation & Natural Resources Bureau of Forestry, Recreation Section
Rachel Carson State Office Building, 6th Floor
P.O. Box 8552 Harrisburg, PA 17105-8552
We’re people, not robots.
Your Snowmobile Ed course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm CST
Sat-Sun 8am to 5pm CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)