Illinois Snowmobile Laws and Regulations

Passing this Snowmobile license course will complete your online safety education for Illinois.

Do you need Illinois Snowmobile education?


You need education if you are 12 to 15 years old and will be riding in Illinois.

You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.

You do not have to be a resident of Illinois to take this online course.


Snowmobile education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.


All Illinois law enforcement officers and designated Illinois Department of Natural Resources officers and employees are authorized to enforce the Snowmobile regulations.

An operator who has received a signal from a law enforcement officer must stop his or her Snowmobile.

Is the Snowmobile Card the same as the Snowmobile License?

The Snowmobile Safety Education Certificate of Competency is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved Snowmobile safety course and allows you to go snowmobiling. Because the Snowmobile education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Illinois Snowmobile License.

Why Snowmobile Safety Education Is Important

Snowmobiles have increased the popularity of outdoor winter recreation. More than three million people in the United States and Canada snowmobile each winter, enjoying more than 230,000 miles of groomed public trails.

As trails and recreation areas become more crowded, it’s especially important for people to operate these vehicles safely and responsibly.


All states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the Snowmobile Safety Education Certificate of Competency. Likewise, Illinois will accept certifications that are issued by other states and provinces. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)

Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Illinois Snowmobile students most frequently ask.

Illinois Frequently Asked Questions